Chocolate Saltine Toffee

I have been trying to post this for DAYS!!  Its just giving me such a hard time.  It was all done then my pictures disappeared!!!  So let me try again…….

SO!  As many of you know I am on pinterest alllll the time!  Well, I saw this recipe and NEEDED to try it.  I mean, chocolate, butter, brown sugar and saltines…….could it really be bad?

Here’s the link for the recipe I followed…..http://www.justapinch.com/recipe/lisa-allen/chocolate-crack/quick-easy-candy#.T7lj9hf0WAs.pinterest

They also called it chocolate crack, I can see why…..

Here’s the recipe:

saltine crackers, I used 1 1/2 sleeves you’ll have to break some to get them to fit

2 sticks of butter not margarine (1 cup)

1 cup dark brown sugar

2 cups milk chocolate chips

preheat oven to 350.  I lined a cookie sheet (15×10) with the saltines

Melt the butter over med high heat.  Then add brown sugar.

Bring to a boil.  Cook for 3 minutes. Stirring constantly…

After cooking for 3 minutes, remove from heat.  Pour over crackers and spread with a spatula.

Put in oven and cook for about 5 minutes, till it bubbles.  Remove and sprinkle chocolate chips all over, let them sit for a few minutes for the chips to melt.

 then spread with a spatula and put in the fridge to harden.

I was the only one home, so, I HAD to make the sacrifice and lick the spatula!  mmmmm….

When all is said and done this is what it looks like.

It is so good!  I wasnt sure how it would taste with the saltine cracker in there, but really you wouldnt know it was there.  I didnt want to keep it all at my house so I sent some home to my friends house, her son ate it all within the hour!  I guess he liked it.

10 thoughts on “Chocolate Saltine Toffee

    • No the toffee wasnt a pain….trying to post this was post was. Im sure its me, but It kept deleted everythig. I had it all done then the middle pictures disappeared! i wanted to cry….

  1. Ooh, looks yummy! I just might have to make that next month when the girls get home. I love the combination of sweet and salty.

  2. These look fantastic! I’ve got to try making them with my son.. he’s learning to cook and something like this is especially fun! It probably won’t last long in our house though 🙂 I wanted to also let you know… I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award, in my post here: http://thewearymom.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/the-versatile-blogger-award/ It’s not mandatory to accept it or do it, but it is fun and maybe winning awards is a bonus! There’s a link “Rules” in my blog post, click that and it will go to the Versatile blogger Award site itself so you can read more about it. 🙂

Leave a comment